Five students earn 2017 Undergraduate Research Awards

Five University of Oregon students who authored outstanding research papers and theses during the 2016 calendar year have been named winners in the university's Undergraduate Research Awards competition.

Sponsored by the University of Oregon Libraries, the annual program honors UO students who produce exceptional original research and scholarship using UO Libraries collections and resources.

2017 Undergraduate Research Award Winner Claire E. Aubin Claire E. Aubin, an international studies and Russian, East European and Eurasian studies major, took home the honors in the thesis category. Four currently-enrolled students earned recognition for outstanding term papers: Augustine Beard, an honors college student who is majoring in history and environmental studies; Tate James, a comparative literature major and honors college student with a minor in creative writing; Michael McIntosh, who is majoring in economics and political science; and Angela Rothman, who is majoring in history and political science.

“All of us in the UO Libraries are proud to honor these outstanding students and the faculty members who mentored them during their research projects,” said Adriene Lim, dean of libraries and Philip H. Knight Chair. “The celebration of this exemplary work allows us also to highlight the crucial role that librarians and library resources and services provide in the university’s efforts to ensure undergraduate student success.”

A reception honoring the recipients was held in the Knight Library Browsing Room on May 19. The winners were introduced by the faculty members who guided their projects and sponsored their award applications. Often cited were the students' sense of initiative, self-direction, intellectual curiosity and willingness to go "above and beyond" when it came to locating, accessing and applying a variety of information sources.

"Each year the committee enjoys seeing papers and projects that showcase the rich intellectual diversity of student research on campus," said Barbara Jenkins, the library's coordinator of outreach and special programs, who serves as chair of the Undergraduate Research Awards Committee. "It is exciting to see the students’ passions, growth as scholars and their special  relationships with their faculty mentors."

The Undergraduate Research Awards are made possible by endowments established through the generous support of Gretchen and Walt Barger, Lisa and Jon Stine, and Barbara Blinco Sparks. Award winners receive prizes of up to $1,500, and electronic copies of all winning works will be deposited in Scholars’ Bank, the library’s open-access digital archive for UO research and publications.

To learn more about the Undergraduate Research Awards, this year's winners and their research papers, see the story on the UO Libraries website.

Graduating Seniors: Papers and theses written in the Winter and Fall Terms of 2017 are eligible for next year's Undergratuate Research Awards. Apply before leaving campus.

Deadline: Friday, June 16, 2017