UO Board of Trustees adds two new student positions

Two new student trustees will begin their terms on the University of Oregon Board of Trustees on July 1, joining senior Ruby Wool on the governing board.

The new positions on the board stem from a change in state law that added two additional student trustee positions to all public university governing boards. All university board positions are appointed by the governor.

David Mitrovcan Morgan

The incoming undergraduate student trustee is David Mitrovcan Morgan. He is majoring in data science and economics, while minoring in legal studies, philosophy, mathematics and computer information technology.

Cy Abbott

Cy Abbott, the incoming graduate student trustee, is a PhD student researching political border delineation after receiving an MS in geography in 2022. 

Their terms run through June 30, 2026.

The Oregon Senate approved the appointments in May following a nomination by Gov. Tina Kotek.

The non-faculty staff trustee, Lillian Moses, was confirmed for reappointment to the board